COVID-19 Notice: Masks required for all in-person visits.

Testimonials Page

Read what current students and alumni have to say about their experience. If you or someone you know would like to share a testimonial, please contact Renecia Griffie Davis, Student Development Counselor at renecia.davis@kctcs.edu.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next
I decided to participate in the Metro College program because I wanted to relieve myself the financial burden of college debt. I did not want to have to worry about the stress of paying students loans when I graduated. Also, getting paid to go to school did not sound like a bad gig either. I also wanted to make my dad proud. He’s been with UPS for over 20 years, and I wanted to show him that I can bleed brown as well.

Hometown: Louisville, KY
I literally would not have been able to go to college without this program and I can't thank everyone enough for this opportunity. Working while going to school allowed me to have a steady income on top of the tuition assistance and bonuses. This allowed me to buy a car at age 19, move out at age 20, join a sorority, and make some amazing friends along the way. I met so many people at UPS and a few who have become my best friends. Since graduating and leaving this program, I have moved from the only place I have called home to a state I knew nothing about. Without the financial independence I learned though Metro College this never would have been possible. I just began working in my field as an online interior designer and I am so excited to get started.

Hometown: Louisville, KY
Abby Mc Lemore 400X400
Abby McLemore
I started my UPS journey as a UPS School to Work student during my senior year of high school. I am currently studying psychology in hopes of furthering my education in child development. I also minor in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies and I'm hoping to study abroad to advance my fluency in Arabic. I've met so many diverse individuals who have changed my perspective on things that I would have been closed off to. I've also happened to pick up life lessons from amazing co-workers that have a lot more experience and knowledge in school and obviously in life that has helped me get to where I am today.

Hometown: Dadaab, Kenya
Farhiya Shaban 400X400 1
Farhiya Shaban
I am a student at JCTC and my major is health information technology. My goal is to complete all required courses, earn some certifications, and apply for a job after graduation. I have been a legal immigrant for almost three years. Choosing a major and integrating into this new culture was difficult. The MC program helped me integrate quickly, and thanks to the enthusiastic support of the counselors, I am confident in my profession and will be ready to join the workforce.

Hometown: Louisville, KY
Nguyen Minh
Minh Nguyen
I decided to participate in the MC program because I did not want to worry about paying for college or graduating with debt. The MC program has benefited me personally by allowing me to have a stable job and housing, as well as a growing bank account to help pay for expenses. I have benefited professionally by building good work ethic and leadership skills. I plan to graduate with my bachelor's degree in computer science and go for my master's degree, then go to law school.

Hometown: Henderson, KY
staff-photo-placeholder
Thomas "Alex" Bovey
Prev 1 2 3 4 Next

Online Volunteer Mentor Opportunity

Do you have at least one year of relevant and professional work experience in your career field? Would you like to learn more about how you can serve as an Online Mentor and provide "one-time" career development feedback" to current students exploring similar career and educational goals?

Volunteer to become an Online Career Guide Mentor. Learn more or sign up at www.crew.cc/career-guides/volunteer.

Please feel free to share this online volunteer mentor opportunity with your professional networks and anyone that you think might be interested.

Questions? Contact Renecia Griffie Davis, Student Development Counselor at renecia.davis@kctcs.edu.